National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative – Category II, Treatment and Service Adaptation (TSA) Centers

Funder: Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration

Deadline: 07/30/2021

Award Details: The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS), is accepting applications for fiscal year (FY) 2021 National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative (NCTSI) – Category II, Treatment and Service Adaptation (TSA) Centers (Short Title: NCTSI-II). The purpose of the TSA Centers is to provide national expertise for specific types of traumatic events, population groups, and service systems, and support the specialized adaptation of effective evidence-based treatment and service approaches for communities across the nation.

Up to $600,000 per year, length of project up to 5 years. No match required.

Proposed budgets cannot exceed $600,000 in total costs (direct and indirect) in any year of the proposed project. Annual continuation awards will depend on the availability of funds, grantee progress in meeting project goals and objectives, timely submission of required data and reports, and compliance with all terms and conditions of award.

Number of Awards: 35

Target Population: To date, the NCTSI has developed and implemented evidence-based interventions and promising practices to reduce immediate distress from exposure to traumatic events;
developed and provided training in trauma-focused approaches and services for use in child mental health clinics, schools, child welfare, and juvenile justice settings, among
other service areas; and developed widely used intervention protocols for disaster victims.

The TSA Centers develop activities that improve outcomes for traumatized children, adolescents, and their families. The centers are expected to provide training on best practices in child trauma to mental health, social service, and other child service systems.


Eligible applicants are domestic public and private nonprofit entities. For example:

  • State and local governments
  • Federally recognized American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) tribes and tribal organizations
  • Urban Indian organizations
  • Public or private universities and colleges
  • Community- and faith-based organizations

NCTSI – Category II grant recipients that received their initial funding award in FY 2017 and FY 2018 under FOA # SM-16-008 and NCTSI – Category II grant recipients funded under FOA # SM-20-004 are not eligible to apply under this funding announcement.

All applicants MUST register with NIH’s eRA Commons in order to submit an
application. This process takes up to six weeks. If you believe you are interested in applying for this opportunity, you MUST start the registration process immediately. Do not wait to start this process. WARNING: BY THE DEADLINE FOR THIS FOA YOU MUST HAVE SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED THE FOLLOWING TO SUBMIT AN APPLICATION:

• The applicant organization MUST be registered in NIH’s eRA Commons; AND
• The Project Director MUST have an active eRA Commons account (with the PI role) affiliated with the organization in eRA Commons. No exceptions will be made.

Applicants must also register with the System for Award Management (SAM) and (see Appendix A for all registration requirements). 6 providers. The centers are expected to have national expertise in an area of child trauma, early intervention, and mental disorder treatment provision.


Geographic distribution will be a key factor in funding applications for this program.

Link to RFP: