National Child Traumatic Stress Initiative (NCTSI) – Category II, Treatment and Service Adaptation (TSA) Centers

AGENCY:  Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

 DEADLINE: Applications due: May 11, 2016.

AWARD: Up to $600,000 per year for up to 5 years.

NUMBER OF AWARDS: Up to 25 awards.

ELIGIBILITY:  Domestic public and private non-profit entities:

  • State and local governments;
  • Federally recognized American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) tribes and tribal organizations;
  • Urban Indian organizations;
  • Public or private universities and colleges; and
  • Community- and faith-based organizations.

TARGET POPULATION: Areas of Trauma Focus – Select only one trauma area from the bulleted lists.

  1. Developing and disseminating interventions for specific types of trauma and implementation in service systems (select from the bulleted list below) in which a type of trauma is most often evident, including interventions for:
    • Child Abuse/Child Protective Services and Child Welfare Settings
    • Community Violence
    • Juvenile Justice, Courts, and Law Enforcement
    • Domestic/Interpersonal Violence
    • Injuries and Medical Problems/Health Care Settings/Integrated Care
    • Refugee Displacement and War Zone Trauma/Refugee Health and Resettlement Agencies
    • Trauma in School Populations/Schools
    • Complex Trauma/Residential Treatment Settings and Shelters and Juvenile Justice Detention Centers
    • Disaster and Terrorism Victimization/First Responders and Emergency Response System
    • Higher Education: Trauma Informed Workforce Development for Educational Programs Supporting Dissemination of the NCTSN Core Concepts Curriculum.
  2. Developing, training, implementing, and evaluating types of trauma interventions (select from the bulleted list below), including:
    • Acute/Early/Brief Interventions
    • Clinical interventions for Traumatic Stress Reactions
    • Child and Adolescent Bereavement
    • Interventions for Developmental Effects of Trauma
    • Family Interventions
    • Residential Settings Interventions
  3. Ensuring services for specific traumatized populations (select from the bulleted list below), including:
    • Young/Preschool Children
    • Adolescents, including Adolescents with/or at Risk for Substance Abuse and Suicide/Self Harm
    • Children/Adolescents with Disabilities
    • American Indian/Alaska Native Children and Adolescents
    • Commercially Sexually Exploited Children/Child Trafficking

SUMMARY: The purpose of the Category II, TSA Centers is to provide national expertise for specific types of traumatic events, population groups and service systems, and support the specialized adaptation of effective evidence-based treatment and service approaches for communities across the nation. In addition, TSA Centers provide leadership, infrastructure, and support for specific trauma areas to help ensure the NCTSI is addressing major areas of child trauma. A key goal of TSA Centers is to select an Area of Trauma Focus and identify effective trauma treatment and/or service system approaches to be implemented in community settings and in child-serving systems across the country. The Category II, TSA Centers develop activities that improve outcomes for traumatized children, adolescents, and their families. These may include proposing policy changes, improving service access and service system improvements, and promoting community support and sufficient funding to support trauma treatment services for all children in need. The Category II, TSA Centers are expected to provide training on best practices in child trauma to over 200,000 mental health, social service, and other child service system providers annually.

The Category II, TSA Centers are expected to have national expertise in an area of child trauma and achieve substantial progress in intervention development, training, evaluation, and dissemination in the trauma area selected. The intent of this FOA is to have “coverage” and expertise in a range of trauma areas, service systems, settings, and populations. Applicants are asked to identify their area of child trauma expertise and interest. Applicants must select only one Area of Trauma Focus, per application, from the list provided in the target population and indicate the selection in Section A: Statement of Need, Number 1. Applicants may not combine areas or otherwise alter the provided list of Areas of Trauma Focus. Applicants may apply for more than one Area of Trauma Focus by submitting a separate application for each Area of Trauma Focus.

The Category II, TSA Center grant funds must be used primarily to support infrastructure development, including the following types of activities:

  • Provide leadership in the NCTSN on the development or adaptation, and widescale dissemination of effective, evidence-based treatment and service approaches in the Area of Trauma Focus.
  • Serve as a continuing resource for training, consultation, and technical assistance to other Network and non-Network Centers and the National Center for Child Traumatic Stress (NCCTS) in the Area of Trauma Focus, with particular attention to supporting Network training efforts and other avenues for widespread dissemination of Network interventions and products beyond funded grantees to service providers and family/youth affected by traumatic events.
  • Expand implementation of trauma interventions in the applicant’s Area of Trauma Focus to new populations and service systems, such as schools, child welfare and juvenile justice settings; and apply implementation science to promote effective and sustainable intervention.
  • Collaborate with the NCCTS and other Network Centers in joint activities, such as leadership of NCTSN committees and developing Network products with the highest level of evidence. Describe the role of staff, staff time, and budgetary resources you will dedicate to these collaboration activities with the NCCTS and other NCTSN Centers.
  • Engage key stakeholders, including family members, children, and youth, and service providers, as applicable, in all aspects of the grant, including development, implementation, and oversight of the program.
  • Assess the quality and outcomes of intervention dissemination and implementation, including adapting and improving treatment and service approaches so that interventions are more effective when used in community settings.
  • Develop additional intervention products (e.g., protocols, manuals, training materials, etc.) to fill identified needs, so that effective treatment, practice, and service approaches can be replicated and disseminated to an array of  community and service system providers across the country.
  • Participate in clinical and/or services data collection, both in the development of clinical data protocols for the NCTSN and the broader child trauma field, and document the effectiveness of NCTSN child trauma interventions and approaches in various service settings.